Research Staff 


Dr. Andy Yonelinas

Professor, Human Memory Lab Director

Ph.D. in Experimental Psychology from McMaster University, Canada, 1995

B.S. in Cognitive Science from University of Toronto, Canada, 1990

Email : apyonelinas@ucdavis.edu

Google Scholar

Research Interests

Dr. Yonelinas is examining the processes underlying human memory. In order to characterize the functional nature of different memory processes, he is currently using implicit and explicit tests as well as several ‘second generation’ procedures such as the process dissociation procedure, the independence remember/know procedure, and ROC modeling procedure. In order to determine the neural substrates of memory encoding and retrieval processes he is i) examining memory impaired patients such as amnesics and Alzheimer’s patients, and ii) examining the physiological correlates of memory processes using neuroimaging techniques such as event related potentials and function magnetic resonance imaging. The goal of this work is to develop and test models of memory that address recent behavioral, neuropsychological and brain imaging data.


Trevor Baer

Staff Research Manager, Human Memory Lab and Dynamic Memory Lab

B.S. in Cognitive Science from University of California, Davis, 2015

Email : tlbaer@ucdavis.edu

Google Scholar

Research Interests

Trevor is the current staff research manager for both the Human Memory Lab and Dynamic Memory Lab, where he heads patient testing and facilitates the many research projects of graduate students and postdocs. Trevor is currently involved in the development of programs that will increase diversity among research staff, as well as programs which aim to prepare undergraduates for a career in research. His research interests span a wide variety of topics, including cognition, consciousness, and the integration of the nervous system with prosthetic devices. Specifically, Trevor is interested in how many current research methodologies can be implemented to give patients an immediate and tangible benefit. Trevor spent his undergraduate career developing and piloting the current Cognitive Science major at UC Davis, where he received his B.S. from in 2015. Currently he is attending the UC Davis Graduate School of Management where he will obtain his MBA degree in 2023. When not in the lab, Trevor enjoys reading, camping, cycling, and cooking.


Michelle Ramey

Graduate Student

B.S. in Psychology from University of California, Berkeley, 2016

Email : mmramey@ucdavis.edu

Google Scholar

Research Interests

Michelle is a PhD student in psychology and is a member of both the Human Memory Lab and the Visual Cognition Lab, where she works with John Henderson to study memory for scenes using eye tracking. She is also interested in the effect of lifestyle factors such as diet on cognition. Particularly, she is interested in how such effects relate to stress, aging, and cognitive decline. Michelle is also a freelance photographer shooting portraits and products for clients, and in her free time she enjoys running and hiking with her dog, cooking, lifting weights, and writing fiction.


Cameron Riddell

Graduate Student

B.A. in Biology and B.S. Psychology from University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 2016

Email : criddell@ucdavis.edu

Research Interests

Cameron is a PhD student in Psychology and is a member of both the Human Memory Lab. Cameron’s research interests include looking at the effects that acute stress has on memory and whether that effect depends on the relative timing of the stressor and the context of encoding. Cameron completed his Bachelors at the University of Maryland Baltimore County in 2016, and worked as a post-baccalaureate research trainee for Alex Martin at the National Institutes of Health. Aside from his academic interests, he enjoys playing lacrosse and socializing with friends.


Alumni

Richard Addante

Assistant Professor, Cal State San Bernadino
Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2011
Website : psychology.csusb.edu/facultystaff/richard_addante
Email : richard.addante@csusb.edu


Mariam Aly

Assistant Professor, Columbia University
Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2013
Website : www.alylab.org
Email : ma3631@columbia.edu


Alyssa Borders

Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2020
 
 
 


Craig Brozinsky

Scientist, Talas Engineering, Inc.
Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2007
Email : cjbroz@gmail.com
 


Rachel Diana

Assistant Professor, Virginia Tech
Ph.D. from Carnegie Mellon University, 2006
Website : www.memlab.psyc.vt.edu
Email : rdiana@vt.edu


Ian Dobbins

Professor, Washington University in St. Louis
Ph.D. from UC Davis
Website : pages.wustl.edu/dobbinslab
Email : idobbins@wustl.edu


Kane Elfman

Senior Software Engineer, if(we) in San Francisco, CA
Ph.D from UC Davis, 2013
 
 


Robin Goodrich

Human Factors Scientist, Exponent in Austin, TX
Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2019
Website : www.exponent.com/professionals/g/goodrich-robin-i
Email : rgoodrich@exponent.com


Iain Harlow

VP of Science, Cerego in San Francisco, CA
Ph.D. from Edinburgh, 2013
Website : www.cerego.com/team
 


Debbie Hannula

Associate Professor, University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee
Ph.D. from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2005
Website : sites.google.com/site/mindfulofmemorylab/home
Email : hannula@uwm.edu


Joe Hopfinger

Professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ph.D. from UC Davis, 1998
Website : www.unc.edu/~joehop
Email : hopfinger@unc.edu


Julie Jorgenson

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist, Davis, CA
Masters from Western Seminary, 2010
Website : juliejmft.com
Email : julie@juliejmft.com


Mark Kishiyama

Research Scientist at California Department of Public Health
PH.D. from UC Davis, 2004
Email : mmkishiyama@gmail.com
 


Justin Knight

Data Science Fellow, Springboard in Atlanta, GA
Ph.D. from University of Georgia, 2012
Website : github.com/SyncingRhythms
Email : knight9.justin@gmail.com


Josh Koen

Postdoc, University of Texas, Dallas
Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2013
Website : vitallongevity.utdallas.edu/fnim/koen
Email : joshua.koen@utdallas.edu


Michele Lazzara

Director of Administrative Operations, University of Illinois
Email : michelel@uic.edu
 
 


Andrew McCullough

Research Data Specialist, California Department of Motor Vehicles
Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2018
Email : amccullough@ucdavis.edu
 


Linda Murray

Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2008
 
 
 


Eric Nolan

Senior Program Development Manager, BrawnyBrains
Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2009
 
 


Jason Ozubko

Assistant Professor, Geneseo in New York
PhD. from University of Waterloo, 2011
Website : www.geneseo.edu/psychology/ozubko
Email : ozubko@geneseo.edu


Colleen Parks

Associate Professor, University of Nevada at Las Vegas
Ph.D. from Georgia Institute of Technology, 2004
Website : faculty.unlv.edu/cparks
Email : colleen.parks@unlv.edu


Colleen Parks

Bachelors from UC Davis, 2020
 
 
 


Mike Petzold

Masters Student at Sacrament State University
B.S from UC Davis, 2013
Website : mikepetzold.com
Email : mtpetzold@gmail.com


Joel Quamme

Associate Professor, Grand Valley State University
Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2004
Website : www.gvsu.edu/psychology/joel-quamme-164
Email : quammej@gvsu.edu


Maureen Ritchey

Assistant Professor, Boston College
Ph.D. from Duke University, 2011
Website : www.thememolab.org
Email : maureen.ritchey@bc.edu


Matt Sazma

Assistant Professor, University of LaVerne
Ph.D. from UC Davis , 2020
Website : laverne.edu/directory/person/matthew-a-sazma/
Email : msazma@laverne.edu


Tali Sharot

Associate Professor, University College London
Ph.D. from New York University, 2006
Website : affectivebrain.com
Email : t.sharot@ucl.ac.uk


Grant Shields

Postdoctoral Scholar, Guyer Lab, UC Davis
Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2019
Website : www.grantsshields.com
Email : gsshields@ucdavis.edu


Wei-chun Wang

Postdoctoral Scholar, Bunge Lab, UC Berkely
Ph.D. from UC Davis, 2013
Website : cabezalab.org
Email : weichunw@gmail.com


Weiwei Zhang

Assistant Professor, UC Riverside
Ph.D. from University of Iowa, 2007
Website : memory.ucr.edu
Email : weiwei.zhang@ucr.edu